Block of Books
  •  
  • IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY - Booker Longlist 2018

    IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY   -   Booker Longlist 2018
    Currently in stock: 2
    ISBN: 9781472250209
    Title: IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY - Booker Longlist 2018
    Author: GUNARATNE GUY
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND. 'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON 'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe. While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it. Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

    Imprint: TINDER PRESS
    RRP: $32.99

    • Price: $32.99
    add to cart
Page: