Block of Books
  •  
  • TRUGANINI : Journey Through the Apocalypse
    TRUGANINI : Journey Through the Apocalypse
    PYBUS CASSANDRA
    ISBN: 9781760529222
    Title: TRUGANINI : Journey Through the Apocalypse
    Author: PYBUS CASSANDRA
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    'At last, a book to give Truganini the proper attention she deserves.' - Gaye Sculthorpe, Curator of Oceania, The British Museum

    Cassandra Pybus' ancestors told a story of an old Aboriginal woman who would wander across their farm on Bruny Island, just off the coast of south-east Tasmania, throughout the 1850s and 1860s. As a child, Cassandra didn't know this woman was Truganini, and that she was walking over the country of her clan, the Nuenonne, of whom she was the last.

    The name of Truganini is vaguely familiar to most Australians as 'the last of her race'. She has become an international icon for a monumental tragedy: the extinction of the original people of Tasmania within her lifetime. For nearly seven decades she lived through a psychological and cultural shift more extreme than most human imaginations could conjure. She is a hugely significant figure in Australian history and we should know about how she lived, not simply that she died. Her life was much more than a regrettable tragedy. Now Cassandra has examined the original eyewitness accounts to write Truganini's extraordinary story.

    A lively, intelligent, sensual young woman, Truganini managed to survive the devastating decade of the 1820s when the clans of south-eastern Tasmania were all but extinguished. Taken away from Bruny Island in 1830, she spent five years on a journey around Tasmania, across rugged highland and through barely penetrable forests, with the self-styled missionary George Augustus Robinson, who was collecting all the surviving people to send them into exile on Flinders Island. She managed to avoid a long incarceration on Flinders Island when Robinson took her to Victoria where she was implicated in the murder of two white men. Acquitted of murder, she was returned to Tasmania where she lived for another thirty-five years. Her story is both inspiring and heart-wrenching, and it is told in full in this book for the first time.

    Imprint: Allen and Unwin Publishers
    RRP: $32.99

    Price: $32.99
  • WE BEGIN AT THE END
    WE BEGIN AT THE END
    WHITAKER CHRIS
    ISBN: 9781785769399
    Title: WE BEGIN AT THE END
    Author: WHITAKER CHRIS
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    This is a book that will make you laugh, it will make you cry and it will break your heart. A triumph of a novel from the award-winning author of Tall Oaks.

    With the staggering intensity of James Lee Burke and the absorbing narrative of Jane Harper's The Dry, We Begin at the End is a powerful novel about absolute love and the lengths we will go to keep our family safe. This is a story about good and evil and how life is lived somewhere in between.

    'You can't save someone that doesn't want to be saved . . .'

    For some people, trouble just finds them.

    Thirty years ago, Vincent King became a killer.

    Now, he's been released from prison and is back in his hometown of Cape Haven, California. Not everyone is pleased to see him. Like Star Radley, his ex-girlfriend, and sister of the girl he killed.

    Duchess Radley, Star's thirteen-year-old daughter, is part-carer, part-protector to her younger brother, Robin - and to her deeply troubled mother. But in trying to protect Star, Duchess inadvertently sets off a chain of events that will have tragic consequences not only for her family, but also the whole town.

    Murder, revenge, retribution.

    How far can we run from the past when the past seems doomed to repeat itself?

    Imprint: ZAFFRE
    RRP: $29.99

    Price: $29.99
  • WE CANT SAY WE DIDNT KNOW
    WE CANT SAY WE DIDNT KNOW
    MCNEILL SOPHIE
    ISBN: 9780733340154
    Title: WE CANT SAY WE DIDNT KNOW
    Author: MCNEILL SOPHIE
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Dispatches from an age of impunity by the ABCTV award-winning investigative reporter and former foreign correspondent

    For more than 15 years, award-winning journalist Sophie McNeill has reported on some of the most war-ravaged and oppressive places on earth, including Syria, Gaza, Yemen, West Bank, Iraq and China. In We Can't Say We Didn't Know, Sophie tells the human stories of devastation and hope behind the headlines - of children, families and refugees, of Saudi women seeking asylum, struggling doctors, imprisoned Uyghurs and Hong Kong protesters.
    These innocent civilians bear the brunt of the lawlessness of the current age of impunity, where war crimes go unpunished and human rights are abused. Many risk everything they know to stand up for what they believe in and to be on the right side of history, no matter how daunting or impossible it might appear, and their courage is extraordinary and inspiring.

    Sophie also examines what happens when evidence and facts become subjective and debatable, and how and why disinformation, impunity and hypocrisy now reign supreme. We can't say we didn't know - the question now is, what are you going to do about it?

    Imprint: Harper Collins
    RRP: $34.99

    Price: $34.99
  • WE WERE NEVER FRIENDS
    WE WERE NEVER FRIENDS
    BEARMAN MARGARET
    ISBN: 9781922267139
    Title: WE WERE NEVER FRIENDS
    Author: BEARMAN MARGARET
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Lotti lives under the shadow of a genius: her father George Coates is a brilliant and celebrated Australian painter.

    When Lotti meets the outcast waif Kyla at a suburban Canberra school, two worlds are set to collide. Slowly Kyla is drawn into the orbit of the Coates family.

    Or is it the other way around?

    As Lotti and Kyla navigate their way towards adulthood, dark secrets start to unravel, with devastating consequences ...

    We Were Never Friends is a compelling and powerful novel about friendship, the pursuit of a creative life and the legacies we leave behind.

    Imprint: BRIO BOOKS
    RRP: $29.99

    Price: $29.99
  • WEED
    WEED
    BLAKE QUENTIN
    ISBN: 9781849766883
    Title: WEED
    Author: BLAKE QUENTIN
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    The Weed is a new title from the highly acclaimed author/illustrator Quentin Blake.
    An inspiring fable about the power of nature, encouraging children and adults alike to care for the environment and each other.

    Imprint: TATE GALLERY
    RRP: $24.99

    Price: $24.99
  • WEIRDO #14 Vote Weirdo
    WEIRDO #14 Vote Weirdo
    DO ANH
    ISBN: 9781743836668
    Title: WEIRDO #14 Vote Weirdo
    Author: DO ANH
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Its time to vote! Weir Dos in the running for class captain... but will an EPIC HAIR DISASTER destroy his chances of winning?! It wont be easy... but it will be funny!

    Imprint: SCHOLASTIC
    RRP: $15.99

    Price: $15.99
  • YEAR THE MAPS CHANGED
    YEAR THE MAPS CHANGED
    BINKS DANIELLE
    ISBN: 9780734419712
    Title: YEAR THE MAPS CHANGED
    Author: BINKS DANIELLE
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    'I was eleven when everything started and twelve by the end. But that's another way maps lie, because it felt like the distance travelled was a whole lot further than that.'

    Sorrento, Victoria - 1999

    Fred's family is a mess. Her mother died when she was six and she's been raised by her Pop and adoptive father, Luca, ever since. But now Pop's had to go away; Luca's girlfriend, Anika, and her son have moved in; and Fred's just found out that Anika and Luca are having a baby of their own. More and more it feels like a land-grab for family and Fred is the one being left off the map.

    Even as the world feels like it's spinning out of control, a crisis from the other side of it comes crashing in. When 400 Kosovar-Albanian refugees arrive in the middle of the night to be housed on an isolated headland not far from Sorrento, their fate becomes intertwined with the lives of Fred and her family, as she navigates one extraordinary year that will change them all.

    A middle-grade coming-of-age story inspired by true events about the bonds of family, the weight of grief and the power of compassion for fans of THE BONE SPARROW, WOLF HOLLOW and THE THING ABOUT JELLYFISH.

    Imprint: Hachette Publishers
    RRP: $17.99
    Price: $17.99
  • YOUR PLANET NEEDS YOU!
    YOUR PLANET NEEDS YOU!
    BUNTING PHILIP
    ISBN: 9781760506803
    Title: YOUR PLANET NEEDS YOU!
    Author: BUNTING PHILIP
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Nobody really likes to think about rubbish (pee-ew!). But whether you know it or not, waste is part of everyone’s lives. Each year, a single person can create up to a tonne of waste. That’s the equivalent weight of a small hippo!

    Where does waste come from? Where does it end up? And what can we do to help our planet? Renowned picture book creator Philip Bunting answers all these questions and more in this entertaining and enlightening look at how to wallop waste and reduce rubbish.

    Your Planet Needs You! is packed with simple and entertaining ways that kids and their families can reduce, re-use, recycle, renew and REALLY GET INVOLVED in cleaning up our planet.

    Learn how to start a compost bin, or how to use and old egg carton to sprout your very own seedlings. Get tips on cool things you can do with empty tin cans or an old pair of socks, and discover how long different things take to decompose – from an apple core to a gumboot to a plastic bag.

    With a positive outlook and a generous dollop of humour, Your Planet Needs You! shows that taking care of our environment can be both fun and rewarding.

    You can be the change! Your planet needs you!

    Imprint: Little Hare Books
    RRP: $24.99

    Price: $24.99
Page: 1 2 3 4 5