Block of Books
  •  
  • WITHOUT EVER REACHING THE SUMMIT
    WITHOUT EVER REACHING THE SUMMIT
    COGNETTI PAOLO
    ISBN: 9781787302273
    Title: WITHOUT EVER REACHING THE SUMMIT
    Author: COGNETTI PAOLO
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains

    Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make- to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard. Written in 1978, Matthiessen's classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.

    Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti's own bestseller, The Eight Mountains. An investigation into the author's physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

    Imprint: Harvill Secker
    RRP: $24.99

    Price: $24.99
  • WORST JOURNEY IN THE WORLD
    WORST JOURNEY IN THE WORLD
    CHERRY-GARRARD APSLEY
    ISBN: 9780099530374
    Title: WORST JOURNEY IN THE WORLD
    Author: CHERRY-GARRARD APSLEY
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    The Worst Journey in the World is a gripping account of an expedition gone disastrously wrong. One of the youngest members of Scott's team, Apsley Cherry-Garrard was later part of the rescue party that found the frozen bodies of Scott and the three men who had accompanied him on the final push to the Pole. Despite the horrors that Scott and his men eventually faced, Cherry-Garrard's account is filled with details of scientific discovery and anecdotes of human resilience in a harsh environment, supported by diary excerpts and accounts from other explorers. A masterpiece of travel writing, The Worst Journey in the World is the most celebrated and compelling of all the books on Antarctic exploration.

    Imprint: VINTAGE CLASSICS
    RRP: $29.99

    Price: $29.99
  • YEAR IN PARIS : Season by Season in the City of Light
    YEAR IN PARIS : Season by Season in the City of Light
    BAXTER JOHN
    ISBN: 9780062846884
    Title: YEAR IN PARIS : Season by Season in the City of Light
    Author: BAXTER JOHN
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: BACK IN STOCK SOON

    From the incomparable John Baxter, the bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Walk in the World, a sumptuous and definitive portrait of Paris through the seasons, highlighting the unique tastes, sights, and changing personality of the city in spring, summer, fall, and winter.

    When the common people of France revolted in 1789, one of the first ways they chose to correct the excesses of the monarchy and the church was to rename the months of the year. Selected by poet and playwright Philippe-Francois-Nazaire Fabre, these new names reflected what took place at that season in the natural world; Fructidor was the month of fruit, Floréal that of flowers, while the winter wind (vent) dominated Ventôse.

    Though the names didn't stick, these seasonal rhythms of the year continue to define Parisians, as well as travelers to the city. As acclaimed author and long-time Paris resident John Baxter himself recollects, “My own arrival in France took place in Nivôse, the month of snow, and continued in Pluviôse, the season of rain. To someone coming from Los Angeles, where seasons barely existed, the shock was visceral. Struggling to adjust, I found reassurance in the literature, music, even the cuisine of my adoptive country, all of which marched to the inaudible drummer of the seasons.”

    Devoting a section of the book to each of Fabre's months, Baxter draws upon Paris's literary, cultural and artistic past to paint an affecting, unforgettable portrait of the city. Touching upon the various ghosts of Paris past, from Hemingway and Zelda Fitzgerald, to Claude Debussy to MFK Fisher to Francois Mitterrand, Baxter evokes the rhythms of the seasons in the City of Light, and the sense of wonder they can arouse for all who visit and live there.

    A melange of history, travel reportage, and myth, of high culture and low, A Year in Paris is vintage John Baxter: a vicarious thrill ride for anyone who loves Paris.

    Imprint: PERENNIAL
    RRP: $32.99

    Price: $32.99
Page: 1 .. 8 9 10 11 12